Storm Of An Angel.

I can hear the roaring in the distance. Light flashes surrounding the area. The wind picks up speed, making this damp hot night seem a little less tense.

Soon enough the thunder is above my head. I scream in surprise. Lightening starts coming down in quick jolts.

Then it happens. The Heavens open up and the rain starts to pour. My whole body is drenched from an Angel’s tears. Why? What did I do to make this happen? Why is an Angel crying for me?

The booming gets softer and the lightening comes less and less. The pouring rain starts slowing down and turns into a misty haze, still very humid. The wind is now a soft, cool breeze.

The storm is over. The dark night sky clears up. I can see the full moon and stars, as bright as the lightening bolts from before, painted across the dark back drop of a midnight summer.

The storm is gone. And so are the Angel’s tears.

2010 (c) Jennifer Gioia

Leave a Reply

