As The Days Grow Older.

As the days grow older,
I see your face less.
I still dream of when we were kids,
Playing together,
Like we had all the time in the world.
And yet,
I still love you.
I still miss you.
I still want you.

As the days grow older,
I notice we are too.

You are too far away to hear me cry now.
I can never rest my head on your shoulder,
Again.
And to think,
Once,
That everything was okay.

Now that it’s not,
I want to hide.
Just crawl up into a ball,
And hide in the shadows.

As the days grow older,
I cry less and less.
Because I’ve got nothing left.

Like every drop I ever had,
Flowed down a river and into a sea.
A sea that will always sit still,
A sea that I cannot reach.

As the days grow older,
I realize that my heart is no longer with me.
You took it away,
And won’t give it back.
No matter how hard I fight.
I cannot get it back.
For you’ve tore it into a million pieces,
And threw it into the garbage.

As the day grow older,
I know now that because of you,
I am now a mess.
I have no life.

As the day grow older,
I see now that no one cares for me.

Not even you.

As the days grow older,
And we’re over each other,
I can’t help but remember,
That night you took my breath away.
You showed me a world,
Where people could only dream about.
But now that dream is gone.

And now that it’s over,
I want all the pain to go away.

But as the days grow older,
The pain get worse and worse.
And I see the ones who used to care for me,
Pass by like I’m invisible.

All because of you.

As the days grow older,
I become less and less visible.
Like I never existed.

Like we ever happened.

As the days grow older,
I finally see you again,
I start to slowly die inside.

You walk right pass me,
Like I am invisible,
Even to you.

That night,
I think of you,
Like I do every night.

And as the days grow older,
I finally die in my sleep.

With my heart,
In your garbage.

2010 (c) Jennifer Gioia

Leave a Reply

