What Is It Like To Be A Parent?

I’ve always wondered what it’s like to be a parent. The love shared from a child to their parent is precious and should never be taken for granted. It’s a wonderful feeling to know you can always depend on your parents for everything and anything. However, there comes a time where loving, in my opinion, can be taken too far.

Like when they’re down your throat every five minutes, wondering whether or not your doing your homework. Sure, they are just looking out for you. They want you to be successful in school, so then later in life you can be successful in your career. I understand that. But it gets annoying after a while, don’t you think?

And when they say no to you asking if you can go to a friends house, twenty minutes away from ours might I add, because they don’t know them. But now that I think about it, they’ve met my friend’s mother, twice, with my grandparents for one of the times. And they’ve met my friend many times. They like my friend, they just don’t want me over their house. Which makes no sense to me.

There comes a time in every parent’s lives where worrying will take control over everything else. They won’t have time to sit, relax, watch the TV, even with your children. Because they’ll be too busy worrying what to make for dinner, if their kids did their homework, if they’re happy, or if they’re not even hungry for dinner.

I understand becoming a parent can change you. It adds a lot more responsibility onto your shoulders that you never thought you needed to take care of, but you do. I just think that sometimes, parents who worry too much about their children and family can take it over board… a lot.

Take my mother for instance. She just turned forty-six this past Sunday. She’s a teaching assistant for kindergarten and she loves her job. She has many friends, old and new, and family who love her. Including our two dogs, Amber and Chloe. You would think that she’s not that worrisome, not that neurotic, not that stressed. At least, I would assume you would think so. But she’s all of these adjectives and more.

This article isn’t just some seventeen year old girl complaining about how her mother is annoying and down her throat all the time. Because, yes, I’ll admit it. It is. However, I’m also, if you haven’t already realized, looking at the point of view of being a parent. I never like biased, one-sided situations. I like to look at the whole picture, front and back, before I even think, let alone speak, an opinion.

You’re probably thinking that I’m a teenager. What do I know about parenting? Yes, I’ve take the course Parenting in school, and even brought home that baby doll that cries and makes you never sleep on a school night when you’re just fifteen years old. But I think that I’ve read enough, seen enough, experienced enough to know some things about the stresses of parenting. No, I’m not saying I know everything, because I know that I don’t. How can I? I haven’t even learned calculus yet, and probably half of you reading this don’t even remember learning it, so I don’t know everything.

But I feel like I can make a some-what fair opinion of parenting. My side, from the eyes of a child, would say that,

“It’s not fair my mother has to be breathing down my throat every five minutes. I wish she would leave me alone, and trust me to do my homework or make myself dinner.”

But then, the motherly side of me (and even though I might be seventeen, I still have motherly traits. I mean, I’m a young lady. It’s my hormones that make me motherly) would say that,

“I have to worry about my daughter. What if she forgets she had homework, she’ll get a bad grade, which could lead to not graduating high school, which could lead to a non-successful career for her.”

Now, I’ll just come straight-out. The motherly side of me was bull shit, but it’s the gist of what my mother usually thinks.

You’re probably wondering why I’m even writing this.

1) It’s a good stress reliever for me to vent out my frustrations. Certain ones because of my mother.

And 2) I would like all parents, for the sake of their mentality and their children’s to listen to this.

Stop stressing and worrying so much. You can’t make a path for your child to follow in life. You have to let them make it and choose it themselves. The most you can do is push them in the right direction, teach them right from wrong, make them happy, and the rest will just fall into place for them. I understand everybody wants their children to be successful and happy in life, I know I want my future children to be successful and happy. But you all just need to sit down and relax. Watch TV with your kids, even if it’s something silly like Spongebob Squarepants or South Park. Stop worrying so much. Life wasn’t made for you to worry over. It was made to enjoy, relax, and be happy with who you are and who you surround yourselves with.

So there’s the end of my rant. I should probably show my mother this. I hope she doesn’t get mad that I shared to the world that she’s a worrisome parent. But seriously? Who isn’t? This was mostly written for my mother anyways. That little bit of advice I just wrote above is for my mother. And I know that there are many other mothers and fathers out there that are just like mine, so listen to my advice as well.

Moral of the story (rant): Life wasn’t made for you to worry over. It was made to enjoy, relax, and be happy with who you are and who you surround yourselves with.

2011 (c) Jennifer Gioia

2 thoughts on “What Is It Like To Be A Parent?”

  1. I just happened on this post with that little tag surfer thing and as a sophomore college student who stays at home with her family for winter break, I can definitely say I FEEL YOU. You tell yourself that you know your parents are just looking out for you, but imagine when you’ve come from living 200 miles from home and pretty much taking care of yourself for a semester and then all of us a sudden you have rules and someone to answer to. It’s not too much fun.

    And part of your frustration comes from how much you care about your parents. It’s hard watching your parents stress over stuff that you dont think is that big of a deal. Believe me, I get it.

    Just ride it out. Experience has taught me that you don’t have too much longer with that kind of protection and you will miss it once you realize it’s gone. Life right now could be so much worse.

    And sorry that was ridiculously long. I guess I needed to get stuff out of my system too! :D

    1. Yeah, I was wondering when I go off to college this fall if they’re still going to ask if I had dinner and crap whenever I call, lol.

      But yeah, definitely understand. I FEEL YOU right back. (:

      And I don’t mind ridiculously long comments, lol. :) Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

