Valentine’s Day, According to Urban Dictionary.

“1) Holiday maliciously created to make lonely people extremely depressed.

2) A corporate conspiracy conceived by candy makers, rose growers, lingerie stores, and jewelers to get people to spend money on junk.

Valentine’s Day? I’ve had days at the dentist’s that go more enjoyable than that day.

***

A day in which cards, candies and gifts are bought for one’s significant other, in hopes that their significant other may allow them to release Oxytocin and Vasopressin into their systems, making their brain patterns appear as though they are snorting cocaine.

On this day, they are essentially “buying” their significant other, so that these love chemicals may be released into their system. It is drug money.

On Valentine’s Day, my friend feels the obligation to buy his girlfriend gifts, and in turn, she allows him to feel the love drugs run through his system.

 

***

1: A marketing ploy designed to create the expectation between couples that they will buy useless, overpriced “gifts” for one another that will be quickly forgotten the day afterward.

2: A cruel, vicious holiday designed to mock single people and remind them of just how lonely they are.

1: My girlfriend got pissed cause I didn’t get her some shit for Valentine’s Day.

2: Valentines Day makes me want to crawl in a hole and die.

 

***

A commercialized holiday that is designed to make you and your “significant other” fall in love even more. Or, gives you the opportunity to tell your “crush” that you love them and what not. But really just ends up making 90% of the population depressed and lonely. Also causing a lot of girls to get typical gifts with no originality whatsoever because they advertise every girl wanting a rose and a box of chocolates.

Him: “Here honey I bought you a dozen roses”

Her: “Oh, how original, thanks honey” in a complete sarcastic tone while thinking, ‘Wow, another dozen roses I can display for two days then throw away.'”

Sources: http://www.urbandictionary.com

***

Is this really what people think of Valentine’s Day? As Single’s Awareness Day.

Wow, that really is depressing.

How fortunate are people that are with someone for this crappy day? Seriously?

Very fortunate, if you ask me.

If you haven’t already guessed, I’m spending Valentine’s Day single and alone. Unless you count my family, but really? Who does that?

And to be honest, I don’t mind. I had a couple of boys ask me to be their valentine today, but I declined them all.

I really don’t have a reason. It was nice to feel wanted on this special day, however I feel as if guys ask you to be theirs just so they have someone for that one day. It’s really pathetic and sad, at least to me.

And sure, there are some guys who take Valentine’s Day as their first opportunity to express their unconditional love for someone, and hopefully keep expressing it afterwards. But it just seems like now-a-days, that’s becoming more rare. At least for my generation.

Unless of course, you’re going to ask her to marry you, than by all means DO IT!

It’s cute, it’s corny, and one day you’ll look back on it thinking it either to be the best decision of your life or the most stupid one.

I’m not really sure what the point of this post is supposed to be, actually. And to be blunt and honest, I don’t care.

I was just glad that I got chocolate, because I looooooove chocolate! :D

But if I had a long and committed boyfriend or fiance`, or even husband, I would tell them the same thing every year.

“I don’t see why people buy other people material items to show their love and affection for each other. I think it’s pointless and just down right shallow. You shouldn’t wait for one day out of the whole year to tell the one you love how you feel, even if you’re just reminding them. It should be every day of your lives together. Me, personally, I don’t want anything for Valentine’s Day. Chocolates and maybe one flower will do it just fine for me. No over the top jewelry that you spent your whole paycheck on, or sexy lingerie that’s just going to end up on the floor anyway, or expensive dinners at fancy restaurants you could never afford except, coincidentally, for this one night. It’s just too over-cliched.”

Yeah, I know. That was long, but it’s so true!

Who agrees?

Happy Valentine’s (Single’s Awareness) Day everybody! :)

4 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day, According to Urban Dictionary.”

  1. Hey There. I discovered your blog the use of msn. That is a really smartly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

