Gore/Evil.

Running.

Faster.

He chases

Me.

I run through the darkness,

Corners at every turn,

An obstacle on every wall.

I run up the stairs to the light.

I feel relieved,

He can’t catch me.

The stairs turn into a slide

And I go down,

Down,

Down.

Back into the darkness.

I scream,

Reach my arms into the air,

Back up the stairs,

Back to safety.

He reaches me;

Puts his slimy fingers around my neck.

I try to escape,

But his grip is too strong.

I relax my body,

My limbs weightless.

I’ve given up.

Evil,

Smeared on his face,

Takes a gun to my head.

Pulls the trigger.

Blood

Everywhere.

Splattered on the floor.

The wall,

Making an image of what my life once used to be.

Blood.

My blood.

I fall to the floor,

Empty.

He has won.

2011 (c) Jennifer Gioia

Leave a Reply

