Do Wishes Come True?

Okay, so I know I haven’t been on in FOREVER! I’ve been super busy with my senior prom and celebration afterwards (we went to Hershey Park by the way). But now that it’s over, I finally have time to post, which I’m pretty psyched about. :) So, back on topic.

 

 

Ever since I was little, I’ve wished. I’ve wished about ponies, about being a ballerina, about being the coolest most popular girl in school, about being pretty and boys liking me. Boys. I think that’s the one thing I’ve wished about the most in my life, so far.

I wish he would like me just as much as I like him.

I wish he would notice me and say hi.

I wish he would give me a flower.

I wish he would ask me to be his valentine.

I wish he would feel what I feel for him.

I wish, I wish, I wish. Man, have I wished a lot. Maybe it’s just the romantic hopeless lover deep inside of me that’s trying to get out, but every time I see a shooting star, or birthday candles, or it’s 11:11, I always wish for the same thing: For someone to love me for who I am and not want to change me except for the better.

So freaking cheesy that it’s melting onto your lasagna dish, I know. But hey, we’ve all got some part of the hopeless romanticism inside us. That’s the reason why I called this blog Fairytales. Because only in fairytales will all your wishes come true.

A while back I wrote an article for my Journalism course last semester particularly about this subject of love and fairytales. And during that time, I was in love. Well, maybe not the kind of love where you want to spend the rest of your days on Earth together and have tons of babies. But the kind of love that was mixed with a little teenage infatuation. Isn’t it the greatest feeling ever? …Nooooo, not really. But it’s close to the real thing. The point of the article was that even though true love can only be found in fairytales and in reality it’s nearly impossible, don’t lose hope.

Now back to wishes, every New Years Eve since I became a high school freshman, I’ve wished, just as the glitter ball in Time Square dropped, two things.

One: That I’d find my one true love this year.

And two: That I would not date anyone for the rest of the school year.

Now, of course I didn’t wish them during the same new year, that would just be contradictory. It changed every new year. However, neither one of them have come true. Now it’s pretty obvious that the second wish I can do all on my own, compared to the first. And this past new years I wished for the second one.

I took some time off, a little vacation, from boys, and it feels GREAT! It used to feel lonely being single and seeing everyone making out at school, so lovey dovey that made you want to vomit green with envy. But now, now, I actually enjoy being single. I haven’t given up on boys, I still flirt with them, I just don’t date them. Now not to sound conceited, however, there have been around seven boys since my last committed relationship where they either asked me on a date, to be their girlfriend, to go to prom with them, or just hook up. I declined every single one of their offers. I just feel like that’s not me anymore. I’m not going to throw myself at boys anymore, metaphorically speaking of course.

And to be honest, boys have wanted me more. All those silly romance novels and chic flicks are actually right, for once. Boys like a good chase, where you play hard to get. Here’s the thing though: I don’t want them. I don’t want a boyfriend at the moment. I don’t want to hook up with anyone. I just want to enjoy life happily and stress free. Oh my gosh, do you know how stressful boys can be? Yes, of course you do. I bet you’re saying the same for girls. Okay, how about this: Do you know how stressful relationships can be? Apparently very. And it’s taken me three and a half years to figure that out.

I used to think when I was little that being single was bad, it meant you’re a prude, or a lesbian, or a prostitute. Man, can you believe how much my mind was warped about relationships or what!? Crazy shiz right there. But being single isn’t about any of that. Being single doesn’t make you any of that. Being single makes you happy, it makes you see the greater things in life that your partner could be holding you back from. Plus, it doesn’t hurt to be able to flirt every now and then with whoever you want. Now that I’m boy-free I can finally enjoy myself. I enjoy the more simple things in life. For years, my life has revolved around boys and I just finally jumped off of the boy-crazed train that never stops.

Now, don’t believe for a second that I’m a lesbian, because I am NOT. I love men, I do. But every now and then it’s nice to jump out of the equation and take a break for a while. I mean, I’ve been on that boy-crazed train since I can remember. And I hated it when it went down hill. The only good times where went it went up hill, and I bet everyone agrees with me on this.

The whole point of this post was to state that I’m finally going to have my wish come true. There are many lessons that I learned from this experience.

One is that it’s always good to take a break from something that stresses you out, even if you love it.

The other is that if you really want your wish to come true, make one that is realistic and reasonable. One that can be reached, achieved. One that can come true. Because wishes don’t just come true in fairytales.

Leave a Reply

