“What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?”

People always ask you from the time you are a child to an adult, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” For some this can be a hard question to answer, however, I have never found difficulty replying. When I was younger I wanted to be a Ballerina because I took ballet classes and dreamt of dancing on stage for the rest of my life. As the years past, so did my interests. I wanted to be a Veterinarian, the proprietor of a Bed and Breakfast, and a Chef and restaurant owner. Finally, my heart settled upon becoming a writer. I have loved to read for fun since I first learned how as a child at the ripe age of three. I wrote my first story about a clichéd Princess at the age of seven, and from the end of middle school to the present, I’ve been writing prose, poetry, and even novellas.

Now that I have finally picked a career path that I know I was destined to follow, I need to set goals. Goals can sometimes be as tricky as answering the question about what do you want to for a living. Most people set goals that are too high, too far-fetched, and too unreachable at the moment to be able to complete. What you must do is set baby-step goals, slowly reaching the top until you have succeeded in following your dreams. These are called short-term goals and there are also long-term goals.

Some of my short term goals are to finish the two novellas that I am writing at the moment, or getting a GPA of 3.0 in a certain class. Short-term goals can be as simple as going food shopping and making a set list of what you need and or want. However, the long-term goals are usually when people set them too high or too unrealistically. For instance, when I was younger I wanted to be a Veterinarian. Unfortunately, I’m not great at biology or anatomy, no matter how much I adore animals, I would never be able to accomplish that long-term goal.

My current long-term goal is to become a published author for fictional novels or maybe an editor for a publishing company. At the moment it might seem a little bit unrealistic, but I am taking those baby-step goals to get onto the right path. I am in college majoring in English Writing Arts. I write all the time, even if it’s about nothing in particular. Practice does make perfect. I also read many novels by different authors to get a feel for different types of writing and different styles and techniques. If I keep accomplishing my baby-step short-term goals, I will one day succeed at my dream career of becoming a published author.

For most people, figuring out what you want to do with your life can be difficult. Even some adults still don’t know what they want to do with their life while already making a living doing something else. However, there are a select few who already know what they want to do with their life and are taking the goals to get there successfully. My advice for those who don’t know would be to just do what you love. If you love what you do, you will be successful. Fortunately for me, I love to read and write. That is just what I am going to do with the rest of my life in small baby-step goals. I cannot wait to reach my long-term dream.

Copyright © 2011 JG
All rights reserved.

2 thoughts on ““What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?””

Leave a Reply

