The Odyssey Trip

The last week of August was EXHAUSTING but so much FUN! I went on this freshman orientation thing that SUNY Plattsburgh provides. It involves, hiking, kayaking, rock climbing, and a high ropes course, while spending the nights at the camping grounds called Twin Valleys.

The first day my group and I hiked the mountain called Noonmark, which is around 3.2 miles, and 900 feet in elevation. The view was absolutely amazing atop the summit. It almost made me regret not taking my camera or cell phone. It was killer on the legs all the way up, but so worth it once we made it to the top. I felt very accomplished.

Tuesday, we went on a high ropes course near Adirondack Community College. It was a lot of fun and very challenging. This one time I had to climb a thirty-foot tree and walk across a twenty-foot log. Of course, I was harnessed with ropes and the works, but it was so heart-wrenching at times. I just remember my heart pounding and that it was almost over. My favorite part was the zip line. I climbed another thrity-foot tree then attached myself to the line and zipped across the open field. It was pretty fun and surprisingly relaxing.

Wednesday, my group hiked twenty-five minutes to the top of Owl’s Head, where we went rock climbing. It was exhilarating! I climbed a real rock! It was only thirty to forty feet, but still! It was so much fun! I never felt as accomplished in my life!

Thursday, we hiked one of the steepest mountains in the Adirondacks called, Hurricane. It was only 2.3 miles, however had an elevation of almost 2,000 feet. And of course, that was the day where it rained and was super windy. So we didn’t stay atop the summit for too long. Plus, you couldn’t even see the view due to all the fog.

Finally, the last day came. We kayaked 9 miles around Lake Champlain. It was exhausting but so much fun. My shoulder blades had never ached so much in my life! The water can be very relaxing though, when you’re not thinking about the aching pains in your arms.

There was this challenge where you couldn’t shower for the whole week. I don’t know yet if I’m ashamed or proud to say that I did accomplish this challenge. However, when I got back that Saturday morning, I took one of the best showers of my life!

All in all, I’d say that it was an amazing experience. I can’t believe I did it considering I’m one of the most laziest people I know. I am very proud of myself and would I do it again? Probably not everything. Maybe just the high ropes course and the rock climbing. Now that was awesome! It was also a great bonding experience with making new friends before college even started. I am glad I went through what I did, because the people that I met there made it all worth-while.

Leave a Reply

