Call Me Beautiful

I hate being cute.

I’m so adorable,

omgeee!

I’m just so freaking cute!

Cute, cute, cute!

Well you know what?

After years of hearing that,

it means nothing to me.

You might as well be saying I’m plain.

I want to hear something different.

You don’t say it as often as I’d like you to,

but when you do, at least it has meaning.

I want to be called pretty.

Beautiful.

Gorgeous.

Stunning.

Mesmerizing.

Maybe it’s just society and their cardboard boxes

making me feel this way,

but it doesn’t matter.

It’s still how I feel.

So change my day.

My week.

My month.

My life.

And call me beautiful.

Jennifer Gioia (c) 2013

2 thoughts on “Call Me Beautiful”

Leave a Reply

